A God-Awful Lack of Inspiration, Drive, and Time

Oh my God… I have gone nearly a month without blogging. Yep… I suck… Well, not really. Since I should have blogged more but I didn’t, let me make a slightly ridiculous and somewhat lengthy shout-out to those of you who are slackers when it comes to writing.

So here’s the deal… Today in my Creative Writing Class, the Creative Writing Goddess (AKA The Teacher) played the preface of Amy Poehler’s book Yes Please, in audio book form. Poehler is really funny (of course, those of you who pay attention to those smaller shows like Parks and Recreation know exactly who she is). The reason she is funny is because she is cynically optimistic, and very realistic. One point she makes in the preface is so damn true: WRITING IS FREAKIN’ HARD.

She writes (or in this case, says) that a lot of writers sugarcoat the writing process. Oh yea, of course, as I’m writing this, I’m TOTALLY sitting on my bed with my computer in my lap, chai latte in hand. Hell to the no. Currently, my room is in my grandmother’s terms a disaster area, I’m hungry and I want my Zaxby’s chicken, like, NOW, and I’m blasting my wide assortment of sometimes obscene music. Oh, and of course I’m typing this blog.

Ms. Amy Poehler makes a hell of a point! Writing, fiction and realistic for me, is really difficult. Why: I feel like my writing isn’t worth a crap unless I plan it. Writing is nowhere near quick. But, fear not. There are times like this when something just floats around in the air and……. BOOOOOOOOM! It hits you. Like a missile. Or a massive snowball. Something big, solid, and explosive. Something like this blog, I suppose.

There was a large period of time in which I was writing a story, but because I felt so consumed with it, I literally was sick of it. I couldn’t bare to look at the damned ol’ document again. It happens. I honestly was plain sick of writing! But after a good while, my vigor for writing was renewed and I hopped back to the computer.

Writing really is hard, but believe me, it is so worth it. Take your time, and if you can’t think of anything, just put it down and do something else, which my personal favorite: SLEEP. I don’t know if it would help you, but if you sit at your computer for too long with nothing coming out of your fingers, just take a nap and when you wake up, something might come to you. One thing about a creative mind is that the person most of the time ends up being a night owl, and the mind keeps the person awake. If you end up getting in bed and laying there with your eyes closed, an something comes to you that makes your head explode with excitement, I encourage you to get right back to the keyboard, or in the case of primitiveness, the notepad, and KEEP WRITING. Write till you run out of ideas for that segment.

This brings me to something the Writing Goddess taught the class. First, get a down-draft. Just write something down, don’t edit the hell out of it. When you finish, have someone help you edit it. Rewrite it with the edits; this is your up-draft. When you finally edit the updraft and get the final product, VOILA! YOU HAVE A MASTERPIECE… Even if every reader says that it’s a piece of shit. You worked hard. If no one liked it, technically someone did: YOU. And that’s one of the things that matters in writing. You have fun.

Remember, don’t ever get discouraged when you write. If you run out of inspiration, just take a step back and focus on other things. It’s okay to take a break from writing. It’s also okay to lose a couple hours of sleep.. Well, only if you don’t have to work. Do your work first, and if you get something, write it down. Just don’t stress over details in the beginning. Just saying, I’m guilty of perfectionism in the beginning stages. That leads to failure.

– The Ollam

Leave a Reply

